Freedom From Sin

Everyone struggles with sin; we are all sinful in nature. That makes living pure and blameless an everyday battle. I can think of several things in life that I have to fight every day. Even Paul, who wrote a large portion of the New Testament, confesses to struggling. This makes his knowledge of living free from sin worth paying attention to. There are three things relating to sin that Paul hits on at the beginning of Romans 8 that are really important for living free.

Not controlled by sin
For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made me free from the law of sin and death.
Romans 8:2
The sacrifice of Jesus dying on the cross set me free from sin. The Holy Spirit, the Spirit of life, lives in me. Life is the opposite of sin, which is death. Because I as a believer have the Spirit of life inside of me, I am not controlled by sin. This means that I have a choice, no matter how hard, to resist sin. God says that He will never let e come against temptation too strong to resist. In any situation of temptation, it is possible to be victorious with God’s help.

Focused on life
For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit.
Romans 8:5
Paul is indirectly calling believers into focusing on the things of the Spirit in not only our actions and words, but our thoughts and entire being. Instead of trying to just stick my head in the sand, it is so much easier to resist sin by setting my mind on God. When I do this, sin becomes so much less attractive. Don’t try to simply resist sin, counteract it!

There is no condemnation
There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus.
Romans 8:1
Inevitably though, I will still mess up and give in to temptation. However, that is no excuse to feel condemned. Jesus died on the cross for my sins. Because of this, I will never be judged for anything that I ask forgiveness of. Condemnation is from the devil. God wants me to get back up on my feet, ask for forgiveness the instant I mess up, and then never think about it again.

These are three very simple and powerful points in acheiving freedom from sin. As much as we might all know these, it is so easy to forget or not fully believe in them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

